Home / 270 Micro / Vivona & Swift Repeat Opening Night Victories At Spirit Auto Speedway

Vivona & Swift Repeat Opening Night Victories At Spirit Auto Speedway

Just as they did on opening night back in April, Rob Vivona and Alex Swift raced in feature wins in the 600 and 270 Micro Sprint feature events, earning their second wins of the 2017 season on the Spirit Auto Center quarter mile track.

Rob Vivona was on the gas when the green flag waved, racing with Germain Godshall for the lead by the end of lap one after starting sixth on the grid. Richie Keller led the way from the green until Jon Keller drew the race’s first caution with two laps scored.. On the restart, Vivona raced side by side with Richie Keller for the lead – a position that he commanded by lap four. ]

Vivona led Travis Hill, Matt Smith, Godshall and Jim Tippin at the half way mark and that’s when things really got interesting. Hill through everything but the kitchen sink – including several slide jobs – at Vivona to challenge for the lead but Vivona prevailed. Hill was forced to play defense while challenging Vivona because Matt Smith had a front row seat to the race for the lead and was just waiting for his own opportunity to make a move. Hill tried inside and outside but each time, Vivona answered with a counter move. “I’m not much of an outside guy,” Vivona commented after the race but Hill’s challenges forced the first repeat winner in Spirit Auto Center 600 competition to race both inside and outside to capture the win.

Hill chased Vivona to the checkered followed by Matt Smith, Jon Keller and Jermain Godshall. Keller had the Barber No. 99B on the move as he rebounded from an early race caution to finish in fourth.

Billy Gray took the lead in the 270 Micro feature at the start but would only lead a single lap before Alex Swift raced by to take the lead on the second circuit. Swift had the field covered as he raced away from his competition on every occasion and in spite of several restarts that gave former track champion, Tyler Reinhardt the opportunity to challenge for the lead. Swift had a straightaway lead before late race caution realigned the field.

Swift raced to the checkered as Reinhardt held off the challenges of Richie Keller to take third. John Wagner finished fourth with Gray rounding out the top five at the finish.

After Todd Francis led the first four laps of the 4 Cylinder Enduro race, Scott Miller took the lead and raced to his fifth straight victory in the i2M sponsored class. Rick Burnham finished second with Francis finishing third.

Scott Riggleman took the lead on the first lap of the Eight Cylinder Enduro and then led all thirty laps to capture his first win. Derek Jones finished second with Lee Allen third.

Nathan Smith picked up the win in the Novice 600 feature with a pass by Ed Wolf coming out of turn four as the leaders headed to the checkered.

The Spirit Auto Center Speedway will be idle Friday night in preparation for the Pack the House Night on Saturday, June 17th when both the Spirit Auto Center quarter mile and Bridgeport Speedway 5/8th mile tracks will present a full night of racing that is FREE for fans entering the grandstands. Quarter mile action will include both the 270 & 600 Micros, 4 Cylinder Enduros and Xcel 600 Modifieds. The 5/8 mile track will feature Crate/Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks, Rookies and MASS Sprints. Racing gets underway at 6pm. Come out for a great night of racing and bring a friend!

600CC MICRO SPRINT FEATUE (20 laps): 1. Rob Vivona, 2. Travis Hill, 3. Matt Smith, 4. Jon Keller, 5. Jermain Godshall, 6. Richie Keller, 7. Nick Havens, 8. Kyle Spence, 9. Brandon Pavel, 10. Nick Walton, 11. Jim Tippin, 12. Shane Linderman, 13. Billy Calvert, 14. Dave Nelson, 15. Mike Fillbrunn, 16. Kristy Hicks, 17. Ed Wolf, 18. Joe Bednarek, 19. Justin Murphy, 20. Nathan Smith, 21. Adam Giovanetti

270CC MICRO SPRINT FEATURE (20 laps): 1. Alex Swift, 2. Tyler Reinhardt, 3. Rich Keller, 4. John Wagner, Jr., 5. Billy Gray, 6. Colin Bustard, 7. John Blanda, 8. Ken Andreas, 9. Ryan Wozunk, 10. Kyle Weiss, 11. Steve Coslop, 12. Luke Fogg, 13. Roland Saxton, 14. Ross Holler, 15. Brandon Shipley, 16. Kristen Landwher, 17. Barry Pollard, 18. Ryan Heim, 19. Brandon Ewing

I2M FOUR CYLINDER ENDUROS (20 laps): 1. Scott Miller, 2. Rick Burnham, 3. Todd Francis, 4. Joe Garey, 5. Tony Turner, 6. Art Knapp

EIGHT CYLINDER ENDURO (30 laps): 1. Scott Riggleman, 2. Derek Jones, 3. Lee Allen, 4. Chris Allen, 5. Doug Snow, 6. Vinny Trioa