Home / 270 Micro / Familiar Faces Are Dealt Aces In 5th Hand Of Poker Series

Familiar Faces Are Dealt Aces In 5th Hand Of Poker Series

Round 5 of the Spirit Auto Center Speedway Poker Series is in the books and familar faces returned to Victory Lane. Tommy Kunsman won the 25-lap wingless 600cc Micro Sprint feature for his second consecutive win in the series. Last years, 270cc Poker champion, Jacob Hendershot, won his second 25-lap 270cc Micro Sprint feature. Chris Kurtz picked up his fourth ace in five tries in the JeffreyHogueRealtor.com Action Track USA Slingshots and Kory Inglin won the 20-lap Xcel 600 Modified feature for the second time this season.

Kunsman grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag over Bill Thomas and Jermain Godshall. Godshall quickly passed Thomas for second and set sail for Kunsman. Godshall passed Kunsman for the lead on lap 6. Godshall began to pull away from Kunsman. Then Kunsman adjusted his line and began to close on Godshall. Kunsman regained the lead from Godshall on lap 14 as the pair encountered lap traffic. The race’s only caution flew to bunch the field. On the restart, Kunsman assumed the lead over Godshall while Jay Hartman and Tim Buckwalter battled for third. At the checkered flag, Kunsman crossed the line ahead of Godshall. Buckwatler finished third with Hartman fourth and Thomas fifth.

In the 270cc feature, Kunsman jumped out to the lead from his outside front row starting spot over Ryan Wozunk, Robbie Watson and Mike Rutherford. Jacob Hendershot was on the move from his ninth starting position moving into fifth by the end of the first lap. Hendershot passed Watson and Rutherford for third on lap four. Hendershot passed Wozunk for second on lap nine and then chased down Kunsman for the lead. Hendershot passed Kunsman for the lead on then began to pull away. Watson passed Kunsman and Wozunk in the closing laps to finish second. Early leader, Kunsman was third and Wozunk finished fourth. Brandon Edgar completed the top five in the non-stop event.

Kurtz led all 20 laps in the Slingshot feature to claim his fourth win of the series. Cody Kline followed Kurtz the entire distance to finish second. Amber Oraschin come on strong from her seventh starting spot to finish third with Nick Vincicuerra and Travis Beiber finishing fourth and fifth.

In the 20-lap Xcel 600 Modified feature, Inglin led the entire distance to record the win.. Jason Dunkleberger spun on lap two went to the rear of the field and worked his way through the field to finish second. Hunter Diehl, Tyler James and Grant Schibilia completed the top five.

WINGLESS 600CC MICRO SPRINTS (25 laps): 1. Tommy Kunsman, 2. Jermain Godshall, 3. Tim Buckwalter, 4. Jay Hartman, 5. Bill Thomas, 6. Austin Quick, 7. Steve Bracall, 8. Wayne Scott, 9. Nick Havens, 10. Jim Tippin, 11. Jon Keller, 12. Geordan Marrero, 13. Brett Altemose, 14. Charles Cobourn, 15. Jeff Hartman, 16. Joe Plunkett, 17. Travis Hill, 18. Bobby Butler

270CC MICRO SPRINTS (25 laps): 1. Jacob Hendershot, 2. Robbie Watson, 3. Tommy Kunsman, 4. Ryan Wozunk, 5. Brandon Edgar, 6. Pat Bealer, 7. Tyler Reinhardt, 8. Brandon Pavel, 9. Mike Rutherford, 10. Shawn Ratchford, 11. Joe Bednarek, 12. Billy Gray, 13. Rich Keller, 14. John Wagner, Jr., DNS – Luke Fogg

JEFFREYHOGUEREALTOR.COM ACTION TRACK SLINGSHOTS (20 laps): 1. Chris Kurtz, 2. Cody Kline, 3. Amber Oraschin, 4. Nick Vincicuerra, 5. Travis Beiber, 6. Dale Kober, 7. Mike Toth, 8. Joey Toth, 9. Jordan Knepp, 10. Brianna James, 11. Dave Morrell, 12. Dylan Hoch

XCEL 600 MODIFIFEDS (20 laps) 1. Kory Inglin, 2. Jason Dunkleberger, 3. Hunter Diehl, 4. Tyler James, 5. Grant Schibilia, 6. Kevin VanValkenburg, 7. Vincent Varano, 8. George Kohrmann, 9. Brian Blankenbiller, 10. Travis Fichter

Want to discuss this article on our forum? Visit – http://smallcarweeklyforum.com/thread/128/familiar-faces-dealt-poker-series

Article by : Spirit Auto Center Speedway
Photo by : http://www.ricksweetenimages.com/