Home / Midget / Robinson And Smee Share The Spoils

Robinson And Smee Share The Spoils

Series leader Nathan Smee extended his championship advantage with another drive to victory in round two of the Diamond Air Midget Super Series at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway on Saturday night (November 21). Having started seventh in the 30-lap feature event, Smee had advanced to third when a series of events unfolded that promoted him into the lead. Michael Stewart capped a fine night with a runner-up finish while national champ Adam Clarke finished in third spot ahead of Anthony Chaffey, the only local to offer any sustained resistance to the interstate invaders.

In Dirt Modified action, former national champion Mark Robinson proved that any race track is multi-lane if you get the set-up right, charging around the outside of Scott Cannon and Victoria’s Dan Scott to secure victory in the 25-lap Super Rooster Series feature race. Having led from the outset after qualifying on pole position, Scott finished second ahead of Cannon, David Clark and Geoff Phillips.

Presented by American Tire and Racing Services, 26 Midget competitors fronted for the Super Series shootout and it was Western Australia’s Lee Redmond who outpaced everybody in clocking 13.351 to set fast time in qualifying. Clarke was next quickest, followed by Matt Smith, Stewart and Dayne Kingshott.

The racing in the heats was stupendous at times with Clarke (2), Brown, Stewart, Paul Murphy and Brayden Willmington collecting wins, with heat three perhaps the best race we have seen all year. With Willmington clinging to the lead, Chaffey, Stewart and Smith were swapping spots in pursuit of the teenager and their dice was something to behold. Matt Smith was

The Dash mixed things up a bit with Brown passing Redmond late in the race to score the win and pole position for the feature. Redmond remained second at the chequer followed by Kingshott, Chaffey and Clarke, who emerged as top qualifier after the heats before inverting the first four in the Dash.

Brown shot to the front at the start of the feature race and was looking in control until he took the SA3 to the infield during a stoppage on lap 14 that changed the complexity of the race. With second-placed Redmond mistakenly believing there was a red light situation and stopping in the main straight, he subsequently had to restart from the rear with Kingshott, whose spin in turn one had triggered the restart. Smee inherited the lead but the race was halted again immediately after Michael Harders tipped over in the back straight. Taking maximum advantage of the good fortune that befell him, Smee led Stewart and Clarke to the chequer. Chaffey was solid in fourth despite a flat front tyre, with Jeremy Hassel, Rusty Whittaker and Willmington next best. Kingshott and Redmond clawed back to eighth and ninth respectively, with Brad Young, Jason Bell, Chris Singleton, Rodney Harders, Ken Stanaway and Mitch Haynes completing the finishers.

In a show of force for their season opener, 29 cars fronted for the Dirt Modified events and put on a terrific display. Heat wins were shared around between Scott, Clark, Cannon, Phillips, Gary Wathen and Scott Conlin.

The B main saw category stalwart and series sponsor Ray Klarich victorious, with Sam Bruggy, Brayd Stephenson, Paul Booker, Andrew Firth and Nick Stubbs also advancing to the main event.

The front row-starting pair of Dan Scott and Scott Cannon held sway at the front of the field for much of the feature race with Scott maintaining a miniscule advantage. There was action aplenty back in the pack though as several challengers emerged, only to drift out of contention again as the laps wound down. Ultimately it was Robinson who pounced late in the race, switching the Castrol Edge #9 to the outside to round up both Scott and Cannon and clinch a win that looked unlikely 10 laps from home. Scott was happy enough in finishing second ahead of Cannon, with Clark and Phillips next in line. Kevin Britten clocked the fastest lap of the race and looked a real threat early before being shuffled back to sixth, with David Ohl impressing in seventh ahead of Scott Conlin, Lee McKinnell and Bruggy and Klarich. Deserving greater reward for his efforts in running the highline through the early laps, Andrew Pezzutti finished 12th in advance of Wathen, Dallas Czerwinski, Rob Scofield and the final finisher in Andrew Shilletto.

The Formula 500 feature was won by Kaydon Iverson in advance of Ryan Skenner, Charlie Brown, James Kennedy and Scott Farmer. Next best were Phil Roberts, Ken Newton and Kristin Brown, who was bumped into a spin on lap two, with Royce Harvey, Adrian Farrell, Brad Vee and Gary Edwards rounding out the field.

In the Stockcar feature, only three cars survived to greet the chequer and it was Shane French who score the win over Kev Healey and Dudley Ward.

Next Saturday night (November 28), Sprintcars return to Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway for round four of the Supercheap Auto Track Championship, along with Lightning Sprints, Compact Speedcars, 360 Sprintcars, Modlites and Open Sedans.

Want to discuss this article on our forum? Visit – http://smallcarweeklyforum.com/thread/22/robinson-smee-share-spoils