Home / Midget / Archerfield Speedway With More Exhibition Excitement

Archerfield Speedway With More Exhibition Excitement

Just two weeks after a fantastic feature race that is still no doubt resonating in the memories of those who witnessed it, the mighty Midgets return to Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway this weekend for another exhibition of open wheel excitement. Round three of the Polar Ice Midget Series will be decided on Saturday night (November 22), with 18 drivers nominated for the event.

Expatriate New Zealander Michael Kendall, a five-time national champion in his home country and the defending Polar Ice champion, currently leads the series having won both of the opening two rounds in emphatic fashion. Whilst Kendall, back behind the wheel of his familiar Neilson Motorsport #89, will be a very firm favourite when hostilities get underway, there are plenty of others in the field with the experience and equipment to upstage the Kiwi ace.

Look for Michael Harders to execute something special after a great run of results thus far this season. Podium results in the opening two Polar Ice rounds and a sensational drive from 12th to fourth in the Super Series event two weeks ago make Harders a red hot chance this weekend and a feature race win would be a fitting reward.

Of course, his brilliant drive into second spot in the Super Series aboard a brand new car makes Brendan Palmer a massive threat, while Brock Dean, Ken Stanaway and Matt Greenwood, who is making his first appearance for the season, have proven themselves capable of running at the front of the field. However, with the likes of Troy Ware, Darren Vine and Scott Wilson in the field, picking a winner is not easy and the only certainty seems to be that the racing will be sensational

Also on the program this Saturday are the thundering V8 Dirt Modifieds, with Australian champion David Clark chasing on a mission to win back-to-back feature wins at Archerfield. Amongst those seeking to prevent Clark from doubling up are a couple of former national titleholders in Mark Robinson and Andrew Pezzutti. In their first night of racing last month, Pezzutti finished second behind Clark in the feature event, while Lismore-based Robinson is a traditional late starter to the season and will be making his first Archerfield appearance of the season. Other contenders include Kevin Britten, Jai Stephenson, Toowoomba veteran Ray Klarich and former New South Wales titleholder Geoff Phillips, who will also be on track at Archerfield for the first time this season.

After a wild finish to the feature race at their last appearance, look for several drivers in the AMCA National ranks to be hell bent on making amends. Thomas Vickery and Russ Hardy were amongst those involved in the shenanigans that ultimately saw Matt Hardy gifted a win and all three drivers are back to do battle once again. Second generation AMCA pilot Lee McKinnell returns to the fold this weekend, with Steve Price hoping that his engines dramas are finally behind him.

Also on Saturday nights program are Limited (360ci) Sprintcars, Open Sedans and Ford vs Holden vs Sigma sedans.

Polar Ice Midget Series round 3 nominations: Reid Mackay, Jason Bell, Michael Harders, Ken Stanaway, Brock Dean, Troy Ware, Matt Hefford, Darren Vine, Brad Young, Brett Foreman, Brendan Palmer, Corey Stothard, Lance Towns, Matt Greenwood, Michael Kendall, Scott Wilson, Tony Michelle, Wade Hawley

Dirt Modified nominations: David Clark, Murray Flay, Mark Robinson, Kevin Britten, Andrew Pezzutti, Jai Stephenson, Paul Booker, Brian Scott, Dallas Czerwinski, Barry Ashen, Ray Klarich, Paul Crossley, Geoff Phillips, Steve Verboort

Event Information:
Date: Saturday November 22, 2014
Venue: Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway
Location: 63 Colebard Street West, Archerfield Qld

Adults: $25.00
Pensioners & Students (with Photo ID): $20.00
Teens: 13 – 15 yrs: $13.00, Children: 5 – 12 yrs: $6.00
Family Passes: $55.00 (2 adults + 2 children 12 yrs or under)

General admission gates open at 4:00pm. Early racing gets underway at 4:30pm, with the main programme kicking off at 6:00pm. Parking is available at the track for $3.00. Racing finishes by 10.30pm.

Programmed events include: Midgets, Dirt Modifieds, Limited Sprintcars, AMCA Nationals, Open Sedans, Ford v Holden v Sigmas

For event information and updates visit www.brisbanespeedway.com.au or follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook.