Home / 270 Micro / Maurer And Peters Shine In Triple 20 Features

Maurer And Peters Shine In Triple 20 Features

Bradley Brown earned the Jared Davis Motorsports fast time award in the RTS Chassis sponsored 270 Sprints. Brown pulled an invert of four, which put Jesse Maurer on the pole. The top twelve from time trials were locked in and the rest went to a qualifier race. Pete Skias won the qualifier race to locked into the main event as well as the eleven drivers that finished in qualifying spots in the 270 Sprint qualifier. Maurer led each lap on his way to the first victory of the night holding off Brown. Mike Boyer, Brandon Edgar, and Richie Hartman were the top five finishers.

Josh Schaffer led the first nine laps of the 270 Sprint triple 20’s second feature. Schaffer waged a battle with 12th place starter Brad Brown until Brown took command on lap ten. Mason Peters followed Brown to the front and began to pressure for the lead before taking the top spot on lap 16. Brown and Peters continued to run side by side the rest of the race through lap traffic until Brown got trapped behind a lap car and Peters drove to his first Linda’s victory just edging out Brown, who finished second for the second race in a row. Josh Schaffer came home with a third place finish with Tommy Kunsman and Pete Skias finishing inside the top five.

The final triple 20 feature race was lined up by an inversion of the top six drivers money earned through the night. Josh Schaffer shared row one with Mike Boyer. Schaffer had the advantage for the first two circuits before the first winner of the night Jesse Maurer was able to move by from his fifth starting spot. Maurer led the remaining 17 laps on his way to his second win of the night. Mike Boyer finished second and was able to close the gap up in lap traffic, but was unable to pass for the lead. Mason Peters came across in third, Brad Brown was fourth, and Tommy Kunsman rounded out the top five finishers. Richie Hartman was sixth in the final feature. Kyle Spence, Pete Skias, Josh Schaffer, and Mike Skias were the top ten finishers.

Steve Whary claimed a track title this year in Hoosier Tire Winged 600 Sprints and he showed how he did it with a strong performance and win Friday night. Whary won the only heat race of the night and then bolted to the race lead in the 600 Sprint feature race. Tyler Walton tried to real Whary in and he got close twice in lap traffic. Whary was a little stronger on this night holding on for the win .886 seconds over Walton. The two dominated the race finishing eight seconds ahead of Jason Swavely, Brittany Brown, and Kenny Murray. Steve Yankowski came across the line in sixth, Tanner Hunsicker was seventh, Bret Cronrath was eighth, and Pat Ely rounded out the field.

The Eash’s Towing Chargers raced in their season finale Charger Challenge race Friday. The first race saw early leader Chris Smith give up the lead to Ed Hollenbach before Hollenbach had to go to the pits in the midst of a tight battle with Chris Cunnane. Cunnane had taken the race lead as Hollenbach went to the pits for a flat tire. Cunnane led the remaining laps on his way to the win in the first segment. The second segment saw the two time champion Eric Hollenbach start up front and stay there. Eric Hollenbach led each lap of the 10 lap segment holding off Leroy Long in a tight battle for the race win. Going into the last segment the drivers lined up heads up from the finish of the second segment with the money on the line. Eric Hollenbach was out front early while Long and Ed Hollenbach battled for the runner up spot. Ed Hollenbach got another flat tire and he retired from the event. Long then set his sights on the race leader. Hollenbach started to fight his car a little with the handling as Long made a quick move into the race lead on lap four. Hollenbach then went off the speedway with a flat tire as well. Troy Hostetter went right on the attack and almost passed Long coming to the checkered flag. Long held on while Hostetter settled for second. Austin Brown came home in third, Chris Smith was fourth, and Josh Michael rounded out the top five finishers. Charlie Kimmel, Chris Cunnane, Eric and Ed Hollenbach finished out the order.

Barb Suville held off Corina Derr in the Lady Charger race. The rain began to fall, but the ladies still took to the track. Suville grabbed the lead early while Derr stayed right in her tire tracks. The two got together as the rain picked up and Derr spun. Kelly Smith avoided the spin and grabbed second spot. Kristen Hollenbach was running third and Abbie Sattazahn was fourth when the yellow came out. The track was deemed too slick for the girls to continue and the checkered flag was thrown. Barb Suville was the winner. The race not only had lady drivers, but also lady flagman as Rebekah Batz and Samantha Bowen took the starter and assistant starter spots.

Next Friday the RTS Chassis sponsored 270 Sprints and Hoosier Tire 600 Sprints return as they continue their preparation for the National Open. The Savage Hyundai Slingshots will race their point finale and then their mechanics will have a chance to race after the night’s action. Also, the Modifieds will compete in their annual Topless race. Gates open at 5:30 and racing will start at 7:30. For more information on the Speedway or the National Open you can visit LindasSpeedway.com, the speedways Facebook or Twitter pages, or call the track at (717) 865-5330.

Photo’s = Amy Williams : http://amysracingphotos.smugmug.com/2014-Pictures/