Home / 270 Micro / Myers Wins First in 270 Micro At Path Valley

Myers Wins First in 270 Micro At Path Valley

Cory Myers has had a good summer of racing in 2014, consistently running near the front and finishing in the top five. Saturday night it all came together for him and he continued the Myers family tradition of winning at Path Valley Speedway.

Ken Singer led the Street Stock field to the green flag and led the first lap. Ryan Sager took over the point on lap two and led the last nineteen laps for the win. Cris Edwards moved past Singer and into second on lap three, but never got any closer than about three car lengths, finishing second. Singer finished third and Ronnie Garlock fourth. The heat race win went to Edwards.

Tony Hampton held off Charlie Stallman to win the 4-Cylinder Thunder Car feature. Randy Stull was third and Stallman won the heat race.

The ACMS Stock 600cc Micro Sprint feature saw the father and son team of Justin and Tom Whittall starting on the front row. Justin started first and took the lead at the drop of the green with Tom not far behind. Gunnar Layton started fifth, gained two spots on a lap three restart to move up to third, and then passed Tom Whittall for second on another restart on lap seven. Layton closed the gap on the leader over the next few laps and then showed patience, backing out of three attempted passes. Finally his persistence paid off when he went high in turn one and then turned back down and drove past on the inside exiting turn two on lap fifteen. Layton then pulled away to win by a full straightway to claim his third straight win at Path Valley. Justin Whittall finished second, ahead of Tom Whittall, Logan Jones, and Drew Ritchey. Justin and Tom Whittall also won the heat races.

Bill Kennedy started second in the Mini Stock feature and beat pole-sitter Dillon Wilson out of turn two to take the early lead. Kennedy led all twenty laps to claim the checkered flag. The race was mostly follow the leader, that is until the final lap. Wilson was still running second when his right rear tire went flat as the field took the white flag. Wilson tried to hold his position on the final lap, but when he got sideways in the final corner the scramble was on to get around him. David Bookwalter made the best of the situation, going into the turn in fourth and coming out in second. Barry Welch followed Bookwalter across the line to finish third with Korey Washinger right behind in fourth and Chris Anderson getting fifth. The heat races were won by Wilson and Kennedy.

In the 270cc Micro Sprint feature, second generation and rookie Zach Glass started on the pole and led the first lap. Glass’s lead was short lived, giving up the top spot on lap two to Billy Logeman. Logeman led until succumbing to mechanical woes under a red flag condition on lap six. Cory Myers was strong on the start, getting from starting seventh to second by lap three. When Logeman was unable to restart after the red flag, Myers inherited the top spot. Josh Stoyer took a little longer to get to the front, starting beside Myers in eighth and taking over second from Bradley Brown on lap nine. Myers had just enough speed to stay in front of Stoyer, including a restart with one lap to go. It was the first career win for Myers. Brian Heist passed Bradley Brown on the last lap restart to get third and Brandon Heist was fifth. Stoyer and Myers were the heat race winners.

Jim Young led all twenty laps of the 600cc Micro Sprint feature to score the win. Young had to defend one passing attempt by Garrett Bard on lap nineteen after the final caution bunched up the field with two laps remaining. Bard attempted to get inside Young in turn three, but Bard could not complete the pass and settled for second. Nick Macri survived a rough night to finish third, followed by John Flick and Justin Whittall. The heat race was won by Bard.

Path Valley results 8/2

Street Stock: 1.Ryan Sager (Huntingdon, PA), 2.Cris Edwards, 3.Ken Singer, 4.Ronnie Garlock DNS: Brad McGinnis, Ridge Bookwalter
Lap Leaders: Ken Singer (1), Ryan Sager (2-20)
Heat: Cris Edwards

4-Cyl. Thunder Car: 1.Tony Hampton (Amberson, PA), 2.Charlie Stallman, 3.Randy Stull
Lap Leaders: Charlie Stallman (1-6), Tony Hampton (7-20)
Heat: Charlie Stallman

ACMS Stock 600cc Micro Sprint: 1.Gunnar Layton (Bedford, PA), 2.Justin Whittall, 3.Tom Whittall, 4.Logan Jones, 5.Drew Ritchey, 6.Sean Garman, 7.Brent Sparks, 8.Jesse Howell, 9.Alan Rhodes, 10.Kane Eichenlaub
Lap Leaders: Justin Whittall (1-14), Gunnar Layton (15-20)
Heats: Justin Whittall, Tom Whittall

Mini Stock: 1.Bill Kennedy (Shippensburg, PA), 2.David Bookwalter, 3.Barry Welch, 4.Korey Washinger, 5.Chris Anderson, 6.Dillon Wilson, 7.Justin Bucher, 8.Tim Williamson, 9.Shaun Linn, 10.Bill Wentz DNS: Myachia Bookwalter
Lap Leaders: Bill Kennedy (1-20)
Heats: Dillon Wilson, Bill Kennedy

270cc Micro Sprint: 1.Cory Myers (Fayetteville, PA), 2.Josh Stoyer, 3.Brian Heist, 4.Bradley Brown, 5.Brandon Heist, 6.Levi Peck, 7.Zach Glass, 8.Brandon Hawkins, 9.Brent Shearer, 10.John Ruoss, 11.Chad Ward, 12.Billy Logeman, 13.Derek Eckenrode, 14.Matt Peachey, 15.Greg Robinson, 16.Brad Huffman DNS: Lauren Huffman
Lap Leaders: Zach Glass (1), Billy Logeman (2-5), Cory Myers (6-20)
Heats: Josh Stoyer, Cory Myers

600cc Micro Sprint: 1.Jim Young (Johnstown, PA), 2.Garrett Bard, 3.Nick Macri, 4.John Flick, 5.Justin Whittall, 6.Gunnar Layton, 7.Anthony Macri DNS: Drew Ritchey
Lap Leaders: Jim Young (1-20)
Heat: Garrett Bard

Coming up next weekend:
Fri 8/8 Thunder-Mini-V8 Super Stock-Late Models-4 Cyl Strictly Stock
270 Sp-600 Sp-V8 Street Stock-Mini-Thunder-All American Classic Vintage

Article by Rob Keller