Home / Asphalt Champ Kart / Borgers Big Prize Race Results, June 14th

Borgers Big Prize Race Results, June 14th

Tim Iulg Wins Number One In Borgers TQ/Asphalt 600 Sprints, Simon Smacks Down Slingshots.

The weather was more like late fall then early summer but the action on the asphalt at Borgers Speedway was hot as Tim Iulg took his first Hoosier Racing Tires TQ/Asphalt 600 Sprints win in blazing fashion. In only his second race ever at Borgers, Iulg made his presence known in a big way. Geoffrey Sutton won his heat so he led the pack for the start. Coming out of turn four misfortune reared it’s ugly face as Sutton pulled to the infield as the green flag waved. On the restart it was Iulg, Mark Yoder, and Larry Hoagland to turn one but Hoagland would come out of turn two chasing the leader Iulg. Hoagland spun on lap seven bringing out the yellow and on the restart Pat VanVarick got by Yoder. As VanVarick took chase on Iulg the white 56 got stronger with each lap. Charging from behind Hoagland put an “Asphalt Slider” on VanVarick in turn one as Yoder also made the move on VanVarick blasting into second. As Iulg, Yoder, and Hoagland pulled away Iulg was not to be caught and screamed under starter Tyler Knitter’s checkered flag. As Iulg climbed out of his car in victory lane his ecstatic family joined him which included his father Dirt Modified Star Gary Iulg. Yoder finished second followed by Hoagland, and VanVarick.

Simon says Simon Eagan smackes down Slingers in Borgers Summer Smack Down. Scoring a perfect day Eagan won both heats which gave him the pole for the 40 lap event. At the drop of the green it wa Eagan, Dylan Hoch, and Chris Kurtz to turn one. Coming out of turn two Louden Reimert made the pass on Kurtz with his sights set on the leaders. Lap five Alex Schoffstall moved into fourth as Kurtz dropped back to fifth. Eagan opened a slight lead on Hoch but a caution on lap nine closed up the field. On the restart Hoch was on Eagan’s rear bumper. Closing in on half way Kurtz had the pressure on Reimeret and got by Remiert on lap eighteen. As the leaders came upon lapped cars on lap twenty two Hoch, Mike Fogler, and Jim Laubach tangled in turn one ending their day. On the restart it was Eagan, Reimert, and Kurtz until lap thirty when Kurtz made the pass on Reimert for second. As Eagan pulled away he was not to be caught taking the win followed by Kurtz, Reimert, Schoffstall, and Mark Sensenig.

Tina Conroy carried on a family tradition making her the third member of her family to win a Slingshot feature on the Borgers asphalt. Conroy won the first ever Slingshot Queen Of The Asphalt Powder Puff making it a family affair as daughter Amanda, and husband Jim have won AllStar Slingshot main events. A first lap crash eliminated Sara Silfee and Stacey McLaughlin setting up a two car battle for the lead with Conroy and Tara Bush. In the closing laps Bush made contact with Conroy sending Bush to the rear. On the restart Danielle Quick took chase on Conroy but a crash would sideline her in the closing laps. Bush and Mylin chased Conroy to the checkered flag but Conroy would hold strong taking the win.

At intermission grandstand spectators got a chance to try their driving skills running the Borgers Fun Sprint Car on the Borgers infield oval. A half dozen takers took on the challenge including the Blue Ridge TV 13 cameraman.

Borgers Speedway would like to thank Brian Unangast and Blue Ridge TV 13 for covering the night’s activities.

Hoosier Racing Tires TQ/Asphalt 600 Sprints… Tim Iulg, Mark Yoder, Larry Hoagland, Pat VanVarick,..DNF… Geoffrey Sutton,…DNS… Joe Yacarino, Louie Horvath.

AllStar Slingshot Summer Smack Down… Simon Eagan, Chris Kurtz, Louden Reimert, Alex Schoffstall, Mark Sensenig, Taylor Eccles, Cody Kline, Jim conroy, Vern McLaughlin, Joe Howey, Joe Bockhorn, Damon Paul, Henry Anderson, Ryan Lacoe, …DNF… Dylan Hoch, Mike fogler, Jim Laubach, Joe Bodenschatz, Mike McLaughlin.

Slingshot Queen Of The Asphalt Powder Puff… Tina Conroy, Tara Bush, Mylin, DNF..Danielle Quick, Stacey McLaughlin, Sara Silfee.